Day 11 Countdown to TAP!

Zstack of books

I’ve begun to narrow down my research to a hundred mile radius around the town where my character will live. I’ve also been visiting the local graveyards and studying the oldest church in that area. I’ve decided I need a geographical map to locate the natural lakes around the county. I’ve also been collecting data on the population and reading about “Super funds” (governement funds set up to clean up polluted sites all overย  Pennsylvania)

As an incentive to prepare for Tap! I’ve signed up for a class at Writer’s Village University. It’s called “WorldBuilding” and it’s about mapping out the world you want to use for your novel. All genres are represented, which is pretty cool since I get to see historical fiction laid out next to horror and fantasy. It has forced me to hammer out the details of my character’s world. In some cases, I’m going to have to invent places, but I’m using what I’ve found in the county.

So how about another link for those of you who still need do do the planning for your novel? This is one of the best sites I’ve seen. I’ve got a few of her modules. I subscribe to her newsletter.ย  This is the link to her home site. You need to figure out what you want and click on the appropriate link.

Visit. She’s a nice lady. I love her videos.

http://hollylisle.com/

In the meantime, it’s back to work. I’m selecting a car and house for my character today. Oh, and I’ll do the character sketch on her husband and step daughter.

Raven

Comments
3 Responses to “Day 11 Countdown to TAP!”
  1. Jbarwriter says:

    Hi Raven,
    Checked out your #1 assignment over at WorldBuilding and can see how gung-ho you are on collecting the material for your characters world. Enjoyed your response to Anna especially where the neighbor told the woman that she had to hire it removed, there is a major difference between urban, and rural areas, poor dears they want the convenience of the inner city, and the serenity of country living without giving up anything.
    JB

  2. ravenlaw says:

    Hey JB,

    Tomorrow I’m going to post something about keeping the research in perspective. I found some great advice about that. I tend to spread my research a little wide because I like to throw in the occasional reference that keeps the story real.

    Thanks for stopping by and best wishes to you and your husband.

    Raven

  3. joni says:

    Hey! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love holly lisle! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And the research is a tricky thing isn’t it? I mean we research our pants off and do we use it ALL? Narrow it down to what you think you will use, and use most of what you have and keep the rest in a safe place for the sequel. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    (((Raven)))

    Joni

Leave a Reply

