Day 7 Countdown to TAP!

books_by_angelica_minier

You’ve probably noticed the huge gap between day eleven  and day seven. I wasn’t goofing off. I signed up for World Building over at Writers’ Village University and have been feverishly defining my world in the novel. It takes place in the real world, so I’m using the maps, county statistics,  entertainment pamphlets, and anything else that might come in useful.

In class, we’ve posted two assignments. The first was a general summary of our worlds. The second was a more detailed description of the way things work. Long project. I’ve found myself studying the inscription on tombstones that date back to the Civil War.  So it’s been four days of studying the social and economic structure of my world. Four days of staring at numbers designating general population numbers that directly influence county growth. Four days of exploring tourist attractions.  Four days of mind numbing statistics that better come into play during the August TAP!

I’ve also registered for a class designed to improve the editing abilities of writer called Getting the Words Right. It’s based on Getting the Words Right by Theodore A. Rees Cheney. I’m recommending this book ahead of time so you can order it and have it on hand for the inevitable revision that must follow. Check it out at Amazon and see if you think it might make a solid addition to your library.

Am I insane? Yeah. I’m also a whole learner. Which means I learn by absorbing many aspects of a topic.  The process involves plenty of reading, plenty of practicing and plenty of books covering every subject imaginable.  There’s nothing worse for me than to need information and not be able to find it.  I’m the gal keeping Amazon’s sales up.

Anyway,  it’s day seven and I’ve got to get my plot outline finished.  Those of you preparing for TAP! might check any library books you’ve borrowed  and make sure they’re renewed. Staples has got a great sale going on notebooks and file boxes.  Don’t forget to buy ink for the printer!

Raven

Comments
2 Responses to “Day 7 Countdown to TAP!”
  1. Bonnar says:

    Hi Raven,
    I’m at WVU and saw your post about TAP in F116 – lurking as I’m overloaded and NOT signing up for anything new right now. I want to do a 30-day challenge. I have a muddled draft that I might try to rework, but it could be more satisfying to start (and largely complete) something new, something fresh. I have a few more days to think about that.
    Thanks, Bonnar

    • ravenlaw says:

      That’s the beauty of TAP! You can work on anything you like. You can even work on short stories. It’s thirty days of dedicated time to write.

      Thirty days to create a habit.

      :)You are welcome to work along with those of us who have decided to go for the push.

      Raven

Leave a Reply

