DAY 7 of TAP!

Tap Writing_by_after_the_party

Today is Friday and we are about to finish one week of Tap! I think our writers are doing exceptionally well. I would like to reiterate that each writer is working on an individual project.  That means the word count isn’t the only means by which to show progress.  Greta, for instance, is working on revision.  She can cut a thousand words, add fifty and end the day on a successful note.  Shriek is working on a very complex novel. She, too, may drop a chapter or add a chapter or blend several chapters.  Word counts are good means to measure progress for the first draft, but I think we should be more flexible.  I’ve been posting a word count increase, when I should be cutting back my word count.  The fact is, I’ve dropped three chapters so far and  blended two and a half chapters.  My original word count (110,000 words) no longer applies. Once I cut out two characters I lost a heck of a lot of words.

So, as we move into the second week,  it might be a good idea to adjust the way we keep track of our progress.  Why don’t those of us working on revision  post the amount of time you spent working on the project and what you achieved or didn’t achieve during that time?

For those working on a draft, keep sending me the word count and any questions that might have arisen during your writing time.  I’ll post them here for you if you like.  If none of us know the answer, we have plenty of resources available to find out.

I’m posting early tonight. I haven’t got everybody’s word counts. I post them as they come in.

Aven word count for today is 500 words.  Total count: 7,800

Paige’s word countfor today is 1,000 words.  Total count: 7,400

Greta’s progress: she is moving steadily through her draft.

Shriek’s word count for today is 900 words. Total count: 10,100

Raven’s word count for today 1,326 words   Total count so far :11,746

Feeling a little pressured? I know I am.  Here’s a link I found that offers some solutions to handling a heavy work load.  I hope you find it useful.

http://www.thecreativepenn.com/2009/07/27/on-efficiency-or-how-to-get-everything-done-as-a-multi-tasking-writer/

I’ll be back later to fill in the progress reports. I’m going to watch the sunset.

Raven

Comments
3 Responses to “DAY 7 of TAP!”
  1. Shriek says:

    Raven,

    Friday. I’m writing first draft, so I’ll continue reporting WC, though that may not be the most effective measure of true progress — even for the sh*tty first draft. I’m thinking that number of scenes completed might mean more. But for the time being, on Friday I eeked out 900 words, bringing the total to 10,100.

  2. ravenlaw says:

    Good going, Shriek! I know you’re involved in another class that requires your time. You are doing well. I’m not sure how much work I’ll get done this weekend. Relatives made a surprise visit.
    I will probably have to do some work on the run.

    Good writing!

    Raven

  3. Joanna Penn says:

    Hi Raven,

    Thanks for the mention of my site! I’m glad the article helped! You guys sound like you are going really well. I’ll be doing a similar thing with NaNoWriMo so that will be fun!

    Thanks, Joanna

Leave a Reply

