Finished the National Novel Writing Month Challenge!

How did I do that?

I’ve been neglecting you, but with good reason.  I’ve been chasing after my word count for National Novel Writing Month.  And baby, I am done.  I sailed over the finish line yesterday afternoon at 50,000 + words.  Which means, I averaged 2500 words per day or 17,500 words per week. Which  also means my mother is right AGAIN!

When you break a large (seemingly impossible) goal into smaller parts, you are more likely to succeed. I did this fast. I did it without eating myself into a sugar coma. I did it without missing my favorite programs and, much to my family’s relief, without missing one shower.

How did I do it?

This is the first time I’ve broken my writing sessions into two parts. Looking at the results, I’m going to say it’s a good plan.  I wrote twice a day, morning and night, and logged 1,250 for each session.  Each time I sat down I found that goal doable. In fact, I found it downright exciting. Why? There’s something about that number that just seems friendly. Maybe it’s because when I first started writing short stories that was the word count I set. Maybe because 1,700 just reads as 2,000 to my brain and sooo much further away.

The end result was that I hit ground running and never actually felt the crushing weight of the 50,000 word goal.  I felt confident. I felt capable.

Heck, I felt downright powerful.

As for my teen writers NaNo group? I’m proud to say they are all doing themselves proud. Every week they show up. ON TIME! And they leave. LATE! They have excellent work to read and they’ve gotten better and better at providing feedback for each other.  I look at this as the true success of NaNoWriMo for me. To share the fun of creation with young people, to watch them strive for their goals and fight the good fight, is to discover that imagination is not dead, nor is courage.

Trust me.

I’ve got a class of talented writers who prove it every week.

Go NaNo Rhinos!

Comments
6 Responses to “Finished the National Novel Writing Month Challenge!”
  1. KjM says:

    Ah, the Raven is speaking again. 🙂

    Well done. I like the approach you took to your NaNo project. The morning and night goals look, certainly, achievable (even more so since you did achieve them).

    Congratulations to, and on, your teen writers group also. Well done to all.

    • ravenlaw says:

      Thanks for stopping by Kevin. I’m glad I crossed over. From here on in, everything is extra.

      Happy Thanksgiving!

      Raven

  2. Paige Clarke says:

    Fantastic JOB. Nano is like a winding tunnel down which it is hard to see any light but you managed to pull through fantastically. Your exceptionally lucky and talented that your ideas seem to flow so smoothly. Nano is tough and I am not sure If I can reach my goal but I am certainly still plowing along. Your definitely and inspiration, Raven.

    • ravenlaw says:

      You go for it, Paige.

      It’s all about the run. Have fun and play. Nano has a way of making life soooo exciting.

      Happy Thanksgiving Day!

      Raven

  3. Hi, Ravenne.

    Head NaNo Rhino reporting in. 😉

    That Freia sure was a lucky dog. I loved your ‘live’ background reference to your prize-winning Thanksgiving story. And you thought my youthful memoir was funny?

    You are so gifted.

    Don’t forget to tell your fans about the free anthology at:
    Smashwords – Flash Fiction 40 Anthology – July 2009 – A book by Flash Fiction 40

    Well done on all counts.
    Wishes and vibes (I really do think they’re working. Heh-heh.)

    Grumps. aka NaNo Rhino ( ^_)_^ )

  4. Hi, Ravenne.

    Head NaNo Rhino reporting in. 😉

    That Freia sure was a lucky dog. I loved your ‘live’ background reference to your prize-winning Thanksgiving story. And you thought my youthful memoir was funny?

    You are so gifted.

    Don’t forget to tell your fans about the free anthology at:
    Smashwords – Flash Fiction 40 Anthology – July 2009 – A book by Flash Fiction 40

    Well done on all counts.
    Wishes and vibes (I really do think they’re working. Heh-heh.)

    Grumps. aka NaNo Rhino ( ^_)_^ )

Leave a Reply

