Nancy Holzner: Writing Space

“Fast, fun, and feisty, Holzner’s DEADTOWN is chock-full of supernatural action, danger, and creatures who do more than go bump in the night.”

Devon Monk, author of MAGIC IN THE BLOOD

**********************************************************************

I’ve always wished that I could take a tour of a published writer’s home.  Not one of those, “oooh” and “ahhH” tours where you get to sit in on a fancy couch and drink wine out of a crystal glass. Nope. I want a tour where I can see what’s in the refrigerator, the kitchen drawers and in the bread box.  I’d want to go to the bathroom, open the cabinet above the sink and check out the hair gels, tooth paste and lotions.  Most of all, I want to sit in the “chair” where the writer thought up stories and spend time pawing through the desk drawers to see if there’s something there to give me insight into the writer.

I’d probably finger the knickknacks. And rub one on the top of my head for good luck. I might pick up the phone and pretend that’s my agent calling and sure, I’ll take that advance along with a vacation to France, thank-you-very-much!

What can I say? I’m big on visuals.

In the last installment of my interview with Nancy Holzner, I ask her about her space. And I ask her a question that has always tickled my brain when I’m reading interviews with published writers.  Read on, my friends, if you’re curious what the Raven wonders about and has decided to ask the author of Deadtown.

*********************************************************************

Hi Nancy, since this is the final segment of the interview, I thought I’d sneak in and get a look at your writing space.  I curious about where you do what you do.  Please tell me, do you have a writing space? If so, where?

I have a home office where I write.  And most evenings I’m at a local coffee shop, writing.

What is your idea of the perfect writing environment?

Somewhere quiet, with a table and a comfortable chair.  Those are my main requirements.  I can usually tune out coffee-shop conversations, but quiet is the best.

What is your definition of a productive day of writing?

For nonfiction, that can be anywhere between three and ten pages, depending on how much I have to research the topic I’m writing about.  For fiction, I try to do at least 1,000 words per writing session.

Do you have “Plan B” for days that aren’t productive? What is it?

It’s not a “Plan B” so much as it’s making myself stay in the chair, ignoring distractions, until I’ve met my goal.

Being a writer is a tough job.  It takes a lot of mental energy.  Sometimes, it’s so exhausting there’s not much left for other things.  I’ve always wanted to know what other authors do when they’re not writing. What do you do?

Sleep.  That’s a joke, but it’s also not far from the truth.  I write for my day job, and I grab whatever time I can to write on evenings and weekends, as well.  But I’m not always glued to a computer.  I try to take a walk each day.  And I’m a huge opera fan.

Wow. Now there’s an interest that will keep you wide awake. We spent a few days getting to know about your book and about you.  I’d like to finish up by giving you an opportunity to reveal something about yourself. What would you like your readers to know about you?

I’ve been involved with stories and books my whole life.  I was an early and avid reader, and my passion for books has never diminished.  I’ve taught English at all levels, from high-school sophomore through PhD candidate.  I’ve worked as a copyeditor and a developmental editor, as well as an instructional designer for textbook projects.  I’ve read and written for fun.  I’m just one of those people who has always immersed myself in books.

************************************************************************

I’d like to thank Nancy Holzner for taking time out of her busy schedule to answer my questions. I’d also like to wish her the best of luck with her new novel Deadtown which debuts in bookstores and online stores on December 29, 2009.  It’s the beginning of a new series, perfect for beginning a new year!

Best of luck, Nancy!

Raven

Nancy Holzner’s new novel, Deadtown, will be released December 29, 2009.  Go to www.nancyholzner.com to read the Chapter 1 of Deadtown and to get more information on her contests, booksignings, and blog tour.

Comments
2 Responses to “Nancy Holzner: Writing Space”
  1. nancyholzner says:

    Hi Laurel,

    Just wanted to say thanks for talking with me about Deadtown and writing in general and doing such a great job of writing up our conversation. Have a very happy new year!

    Best,

    Nancy

  2. ravenlaw says:

    You’re welcome, Nancy. It was a pleasure interviewing you. Have your book. Enjoying it very much. Like how you handled the love interests. Got a kick out of Lucado. He’s such a character. I hope he turns up again in the sequel.
    Great Heroine!

    Laurel

Leave a Reply

